top of page

What Planet Can I Blame This On by Ellie Pilcher


Thank you so much to HodderStudio for gifting me with a copy of this book and allowing me to take part in this amazing tour. Be sure to check out everyone else involved on the banner below!

Ad-Gifted

 

Goodreads Synopsis

It's Krystal's 29th birthday. This year:


* Her boyfriend finally proposed after six years of dating (only for her to find out he cheated on her for five and a half of them)


* She landed her dream job as a writer at Craze magazine (which swiftly fell into administration)


* She moved into her dream flat overlooking the city (just for the pipes to explode making the place unliveable)


As she mourns everything wrong in her life, her best friend mutters the dreaded words: Saturn Return. The time in a woman's life where Saturn returns to the position it was in on the day of their birth, 29.5 years ago, and, according to legend, everything goes to shit. Krystal has never bought into astrology but maybe it's time to re-evaluate - because if the stars got her into this mess, they can get her out of it. And she only has six months to make things right.


Loaded with crystals, horoscopes, tarot cards and a carefully aligned chakra or two, Krystal's determined to have her life back on track by the time Saturn returns. No longer shall she brand herself a 'human disaster' because this time it's not her fault, it's written in the treacherous stars.


It's Krystal versus the universe in a fight for her future that she's determined to win.

 

Review

As soon as I read the synopsis for What Planet Can I Blame This On? I knew I had to read it. Let's be honest, the title is amazing all in itself and the book exceeded every expectation I had for it (which was high!)


This book was funny, it was emotional and it was incredibly relatable! Krystal's life is just falling to pieces around her and she clings on to the one things she's good at which is research. After one of her best friend's mentions Saturn's Return, Krystal finds herself delving deep into the world of astrology, horoscopes and crystals to help explain what's going on in her life and figure out how she can take control.


Whilst reading this book I found myself so interested in my Saturn's Return and what my horoscopes had to say for me. I've always held an interest in this, even buying my own tarot card deck years ago, so I was intrigued to see what my sign and my birth chart had to say. When I find myself researching a main topic in a book I know that it's going to be one I love not only for the story but for the new world of information it has opened up to me.


Krystal was an amazing character who is incredibly easy to relate to. She's witty, she's fun and it was impossible not to love her and her story. I loved watching her grow as a character in this book, especially in her friendships and relationships.


The fact that this is a debut novel blows my mind as Pilcher's writing is phenomenal. This is a book that is going to live with me for a long time and one I will always recommend!

 

Rating: 5/5 stars



bottom of page