top of page

What are Friends For? by Lizzie O'Hagan


Thank you to NetGalley and Headline for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

 

Goodreads Synopsis

Everyone gives their friends advice when it comes to dating, but what happens when it all goes wrong? Eve doesn't have time for dating, but having watched her best friend and flatmate have her heart broken one too many times, she reluctantly volunteers to play her Cupid. Max is too much of a hopeless romantic to find the algorithms of online dating anything other than clinical, but he lives with his romantically-challenged best friend who desperately needs his advice. And after all, what are friends for? As Eve and Max become more involved in their best friends' relationship, they quickly realise there is a fine line between instruction and imitation, especially when they find they can't stop thinking about their best friend's date...

 

Review

This book was so adorable and everything I needed in my time of need. It was fun, it was light-hearted and just generally cute. Told in both Eve and Max’s perspectives we get to watch as they both help their best friends in their attempt to find true love. I ended up devouring this book in one night as I found it impossible to put down.


I found myself loving Eve and Max and how developed these two characters were. They both dealing with their own issues and struggles but were quick to step in and help their best friends, who I also really loved! Becky was such a fun character and I can completely relate to her not ever wanting to work out!


While this story is predictable it didn’t stop me from fully enjoying this story and immersing myself into their world and the messages the two shared whilst pretending to be their best friends. My only issue is that I felt like for Tom and Becky to find their soulmate they had to change their personality and interests.


Overall, this was a super cute and quick read that just makes you believe in love and second chances. So if you’re looking for a beautiful and romantic, will they/wont they story this year this is the one for you!

 

Rating: 4/5 stars

bottom of page