top of page

Warrior of the Wild by Tricia Levenseller


Goodreads Synopsis

How do you kill a god?

As her father's chosen heir, eighteen-year-old Rasmira has trained her whole life to become a warrior and lead her village. But when her coming-of-age trial is sabotaged and she fails the test, her father banishes her to the monster-filled wilderness with an impossible quest: To win back her honor, she must kill the oppressive god who claims tribute from the villages each year—or die trying.


Review

Warrior of the Wild was selected as Bookstaholics Anonymous's read-along and I jumped at the chance as I've been wanting to read a book by Tricia Levenseller considering I had four of them on my shelves!


I will admit that I went into this book with high expectations as I've heard nothing but amazing things about Tricia Levenseller and her books, however Levenseller blew my expectations out of the water. I really enjoyed this one and found myself struggling to stick to the assigned chapters for the day. The world that Levenseller has created is captivating and her writing just absolutely beautiful and addictive.


I loved Rasmira who is a fierce, intelligent and independent female character. I found my heart breaking for her in the first few chapters when she was sabotaged and ended up being banished but she remained strong and took it all in her stride. Whilst Warrior of the Wild is only 300+ pages long I felt like was saw a lot of development in Rasmira's character and how she started figuring out what she wanted, rather that what was expected of her. I also found myself loving Soren and Iric who were two incredibly well developed characters with their own unique personalities. I felt like they added perfectly to the story.


My only issue with this book was the size of it. As I mentioned it's only just over 300 pages and a standalone book. This meant that certain aspects felt rushed and unfortunately I felt that the ending took a hit because of this. It felt rushed and I would have loved more at the end, even if it was a few chapters just for us to see how life had changed.


Overall this was a great book and I cannot wait to dive in to the rest of Levenseller's books on my shelves!


Rating: 4/5 stars



bottom of page