top of page

The Undying Tower by Melissa Welliver


Thank you so much to Agora Books for sending me a copy of this book and allowing me to take part in this amazing tour! Be sure to check out everyone else on the tour banners below! (Ad-Gifted)

 

Goodreads Synopsis

Decades after the discovery that a small percentage of the population has stopped ageing, the Avalonia Zone is in crisis. From overpopulation to food shortages, the ‘Undying’ have been blamed for the state’s problems, banished to the fringes of society, and punished for every minor infraction.


When sixteen-year-old Sadie takes the fall for an attack by a rebel group, The Alchemists, she suddenly finds herself wrenched away from her quiet life and from her ailing father.


Armed with little help and even less knowledge, Sadie is thrust into a cold and cryptic ‘correctional facility’ – The Tower. Here she’ll have to rethink everything she’s been told about the Undying population in an attempt to save the life she knows, protect a group of unlikely friends, and give voice to the voiceless in a society on the brink of catastrophic upheaval.


The first in a daring dystopian trilogy, The Undying Tower descends into the dark side of immortality and champions fighting for what’s right, especially when the world is against you.

 

Review

I feel like it's been years since I read a dystopian novel that just completely drew me in and had me hooked from the very beginning like The Undying Tower did. This book is so rich in detail and so unique that I found myself slowly becoming addicted to this world and the story that I now desperately need the next book in the series.


One of the things I loved about this book was the way that Melissa Welliver didn't info-dump at the beginning. She took her time to explain the world and the way that things work through flashbacks and having the main character not really knowing this new world she finds herself in.


I found myself really liking Sadie and I liked seeing how much she developed throughout the book, even allowing for more development as the series goes on. I also liked the group she manages to form whilst in the tower. Sadie is thrown into a situation she never imagined herself being in but she remains strong and works hard to protect those she cares for.


Full of twists and turns this book is one everyone needs to pick up, especially if you're a fan of YA Dystopian novels! This book had me eagerly turning the pages and I cannot wait for the second book in this trilogy!

 

Rating: 4.5/5 stars



bottom of page