top of page

The Tsarina's Daughter by Ellen Alpsten


Thank you so much to Bloomsbury Publishing and Midas PR for sending me a copy of Tsarina and The Tsarina's Daughter by Ellen Alpsten. Whilst this book can be read as a standalone, I wanted to read Alpsten's first novel which is coming out paperback this June!


Thank you for also allowing me to take part in this tour!


Goodreads Synopsis

Born into the House of Romanov to the all-powerful Peter the Great and his wife, Catherine, a former serf, beautiful Tsarevna Elizabeth is the envy of the Russian empire. She is insulated by luxury and spoiled by her father, who dreams for her to marry King Louis XV of France and rule in Versailles. But when a woodland creature gives her a Delphic prophecy, her life is turned upside down. Her volatile father suddenly dies, her only brother has been executed and her mother takes the throne of Russia.


As friends turn to foe in the dangerous atmosphere of the Court, the princess must fear for her freedom and her life. Fate deals her blow after blow, and even loving her becomes a crime that warrants cruel torture and capital punishment: Elizabeth matures from suffering victim to strong and savvy survivor. But only her true love and their burning passion finally help her become who she is. When the Imperial Crown is left to an infant Tsarevich, Elizabeth finds herself in mortal danger and must confront a terrible dilemma - seize the reins of power and harm an innocent child, or find herself following in the footsteps of her murdered brother.


Hidden behind a gorgeous, wildly decadent façade, the Russian Imperial Court is a viper's den of intrigue and ambition. Only a woman possessed of boundless courage and cunning can prove herself worthy to sit on the throne of Peter the Great.

 

Review

I was lucky enough to read this one after reading Tsarina, which is the amazing story of Catherine I of Russia, and was eager to carry on the story of the Romanov's with her and Peter the Great's daughter Elizabeth.


The story starts whilst her parent's are both alive, but at the end of their reigns. Whilst I loved Catherine's story and her impressive reign as the first Tsarina, I adored reading from Elizabeth's perspective, watching as she realised how powerful her mother had become and what that could possibly mean for her future.


When her mother dies, Elizabeth's world completely changes and everything begins to fall around her. However, she remains such a strong and impressive character who fights to defeat the odds that face her. Elizabeth is an amazing woman, full of power and I loved watching her develop throughout her life.


I've always had an interest in the Romanov line, every since I was little girl and learning more about Anastasia Romanov thanks to the animated movie. This family has always fascinated me and honestly could read anything revolving around the family. Whilst reading I found myself researching more about this family and the people involved in this time of history. I love books that just increase my knowledge and interest!


Alpsten is a phenomenal writer whose words and world building drew me in and completely captivated me. There was not one point in this book that I felt wasn't needed, in fact I could have easily read another 100 pages about Elizabeth.


The Tsarina's Daughter is a historical story full of love, loss, greed, deceit and betrayal. This is a must read for anyone who loves historical fiction or has an interest in the early Romanov line.

 

Rating: 4/5 stars



bottom of page