top of page

The Spark by Jules Wakes


Thank you to NetGalley and Harper Collins UK, One More Chapter for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

 

Goodreads Synopsis

Jess is falling for Sam.


Sam is falling for Jess.


But it seems life will do whatever it takes to make them fall apart.


When Jess and Sam lock eyes at a party, a spark ignites. The spark. But love at first sight isn’t like the movies, especially when Sam’s ex, Victoria, is determined to make their honeymoon period a living hell.


Is love at first sight enough?

 

Review

This book was so god damn good and I found it impossible to put down. When I wasn't reading it I couldn't stop thinking about Jess, Sam and what Victoria was going to do in order to ruin their happiness.


Going into this book you know how it's going to end but that doesn't stop you from fully consuming this book and going on this journey with Jess and Sam. I laughed, I felt warm and I also cried.


Jess is an amazing character who I honestly loved and admired. She works in a hidden shelter for women and children who have left home with nothing in order to escape from the abuse they face at home. Not only that but she struggles with her mother, who hasn't been the same since Jess's father left them when she was 8 years old. She feels guilty for how close and at home she feels with her Aunt and Uncle but her mother doesn't make it easy for her. Jess was also a very easy-going and understanding character who was so calm in situations where I would have been pulling my own hair out.


I liked Sam and loved the banter he had with Jess. He was such a great character and I would have loved to have read parts of this story from his perspective. I also respect him for how he dealt with the beginning of the relationship but at times I wanted him to fight harder against Victoria and stand up for Jess more.


I liked the fact that this book wasn't just a romance novel, it dealt with mental health and focused heavily on the people left behind when relationships end and how they cope with it. This book shows you two completely different reactions, from a complete mental breakdown to enacting revenge because you think that person still belongs to you. It was hard watching these characters become unable to move on. I also love that Wake explored the other side of it and how hard it could be for the person who takes their place.


Honestly this was such a brilliant book. It wasn't cheesy (like I thought it might have been) and it wasn't completely focused on the whirlwind relationship Jess and Sam found themselves in. It shows that it isn't always rainbows and butterflies, but there are struggles and bumps in the road that they had to navigate around. I cannot wait to pick up more of her books!

 

Rating: 5/5 stars

bottom of page