top of page

The Shadow Bird by Ann Gosslin - Book Tour & Review


Thank you to Legend Press for gifting me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review! I'm so happy to be a part of this book tour!


Please check out the banner at the bottom so you can see everyone else whose involved!


Goodreads Synopsis

Three months into her new role as a psychiatrist at a clinic in New York, Erin Cartwright is asked to evaluate the case of a man who murdered his mother and sisters at the age of seventeen.


Found not guilty by reason of insanity and held in a maximum-security psychiatric facility for twenty-seven years, Timothy Stern is now eligible for release. Upon learning the crime occurred in the same village she once visited as a child, Erin is on the verge of refusing to take the case, when a startling discovery triggers memories she'd rather keep hidden, and a suspicion the wrong man is behind bars.


Review

I didn't know how much I needed to read this book. I was instantly hooked into the plot and the secrets hidden within this story!


I went to university with the consideration of becoming a forensic psychologist but due to money and issues with my degree I never ended up pursuing it further. So, once I read the synopsis for The Shadow Bird I knew it was going to be a new favourite of mine.


Erin is an incredibly strong and realistic character who has gone through her own trauma. You learn more about her past as the book goes on and I found myself growing attached to her character. She has her flaws but it just made her more relatable in my eyes.


The Shadow Bird ticked all the books for me in regards to suspense. It has realistic characters and an amazing plot that had me on the edge of my seat. This book constantly has you guessing who was to blame for the murders and what the motive was behind them.


Full of twists and turns The Shadow Bird is a brilliantly written psychological suspense book that has been thoroughly researched and paced perfectly. I found it impossible to put this book down and I was sad when it was over! I could easily read more about Erin's life.


This is an intense and gripping debut and I cannot wait to read what Ann Gosslin writes next!


Rating: 5/5 stars



Comments


bottom of page