top of page

The Prison Healer by Lynette Noni


Thank you so much to Hodderscape for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest opinion! Also a big thank you for letting me be on the blog tour for this beauty! Be sure to check out everyone else on the tour on the banner below!

Ad-gifted


Goodreads Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years fighting for survival in the notorious death prison, Zalindov, working as the prison healer.


When the Rebel Queen is captured, Kiva is charged with keeping the terminally ill woman alive long enough for her to undergo the Trial by Ordeal: a series of elemental challenges against the torments of air, fire, water, and earth, assigned to only the most dangerous of criminals.


Then a coded message from Kiva’s family arrives, containing a single order: “Don’t let her die. We are coming.” Aware that the Trials will kill the sickly queen, Kiva risks her own life to volunteer in her place. If she succeeds, both she and the queen will be granted their freedom.


But no one has ever survived.


With an incurable plague sweeping Zalindov, a mysterious new inmate fighting for Kiva’s heart, and a prison rebellion brewing, Kiva can’t escape the terrible feeling that her trials have only just begun.

 

Review

You know when you read a book and it's all you can think about for days on end and you just want to ignore your whole TBR to dive back into this world and consume it?! That is The Prison Healer for me. This book was one of my most anticipated reads for 2021 and it did not disappoint, I actually think it's my favourite book of the year so far!


This book ticked all the boxes for me in terms of YA fantasy! It had amazing main characters that you cannot help but fall in love with, a captivating plot, twists and turns that you never saw coming and an epic ending that has you craving the next book!


Noni has a beautiful way of writing that had me unable to put the book down and needing to read on to see what happened next! Kiva was such a brilliant main character and I loved watching as her character developed and struggled with the situation she had selflessly put herself in. The side characters were so unique and I found myself loving their addition to the story!


Honestly, you need to read The Prison Healer! I have not stopped thinking about it, the characters or the plot! If I didn't have a million books on my TBR screaming for me to read them I would easily pick this book up again right now.

 

Rating: 5/5 stars

Instagram:


Twitter:



bottom of page