top of page

The Package by Sebastian Fitzek


Thank you so much to Head of Zeus for gifting me with a copy of this book and letting me take part in this amazing blog tour! Make sure you check the banner below and go read everyone else's reviews!

 

Synopsis

All you've done is taken in a parcel for a neighbour. You have no idea what you've let into your home. Emma's the one that got away. The only survivor of a killer known in the tabloids as 'the barber' – because of the trophies he takes from his victims. Or she thinks she was. The police aren't convinced. Nor is her husband. She never even saw her tormentor properly, but now she recognises him in every man. Questioning her sanity, she gives up her job as a doctor in the local hospital and retreats from the world. It is better to stay at home. Quiet. Anonymous. Safe. He won't find her here. And all she did was take a parcel for a neighbour. She has no idea what she's let into her home.

 

Review

Trigger Warnings: Rape, adultery and mental illness.


The Package was such an interesting and compelling read that had me on the edge of my seat wondering who attacked Emma and why did he keep her alive when he had murdered all the others.


This was a story full of twists and turns that completely throws you off your suspicions and honestly shows how severe trauma can affect a person. Emma's safety is broken when she takes in the parcel for her neighbour and her paranoia becomes increasingly worse.


Emma was an interesting character. She grew up in a home with parents that didn't show her much love, went on to become a psychiatrist in a happy relationship before being attacked causing her life to just completely change before her own eyes. She grows frustrated that people don't believe that she was a victim of a serial killer and finds herself unable to truly trust any male figure in her life. Whilst I understand her actions, I found myself not agreeing with them at times.


It's hard to talk too much about this book without giving away the story and the key plot points in this story. Whilst this book is intense with heavy hitting themes, that didn't stop me from devouring this book in a couple of days. I became as desperate as Emma in finding out who the killer was. There were some major plot twists that I did not see coming and honestly I'm still surprised whilst writing this a few days after having finished the book.


Overall, this was a great psychological thriller that had me eagerly turning the page! I recommend it for any one who is a fan of the genre!


Rating: 4/5 stars

 





bottom of page