top of page

The Opposite of Falling Apart by Micah Good


Thank you to NetGalley and Wattpad Books for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.


Goodreads Synopsis

After losing his leg in a terrible car accident, Jonas Avery can’t wait to start over and go to college.


Brennan Davis would like nothing more than to stay home and go to school, so she can keep her anxiety in check.


When the two accidentally meet the summer before they move away, they’ll push each other to come to terms with what’s holding them back, even as they’re pulled closer to taking the biggest leap of all—falling in love.


Review

Before I start talking about this book I would like to make it clear that there are trigger warnings in this book revolving around PTSD and anxiety. Please keep that in mind before picking up this book.


This book was absolutely perfect, and I knew from early on that my rating was going to be high. While there is a slow burn romance in this book it is so much more than that.


This book tells the story of Jonas who is suffering from PTSD after a traumatic accident. It’s a story of his struggles learning to adapt to the fact that he has lost half of his leg in a situation he had no control over. My heart ached for Jonas and even when he was lashing out at his family I completely understood and sympathised with his situation.


It also tells the story of Brennan who is suffering from a severe anxiety disorder that she’s trying to keep in check and hidden. She’s lying to the people around her about how bad it is and is fighting with the negative thoughts and feelings that are trying to take control of her life. I 100% relate to Brennan in this story. Today, when reading this book, I was having a really bad day with my anxiety so reading Brennan’s story reminded me that I’m not alone in this. That I can take control of my anxiety and live life to the fullest.


This is a book about coming to terms with who you are as a person. It’s a book about realising that you are not alone and that its okay to have bad days. I recommend this book to everyone, even if you aren’t or have never suffered from PTSD or anxiety just so that you can learn more about how hard it is for people who are.


I will definitely be reading more of Micah Good’s work!


Rating: 5/5 stars

bottom of page