top of page

The New Guy by Kathryn Freeman - Book Review


Thank you to NetGalley, HarperCollins UK and One More Chapter for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.


Goodreads Synopsis

Sam Huxton doesn’t do one-night stands, especially not with men she’s just met! But the hot guy at the bar was hard to resist and one night is all they share – no names, no numbers, just some much needed fun…


Until the same guy walks into Sam’s life the next day as her new employee. Sam never mixes business with pleasure and makes it clear an office fling with Ryan is off-limits. But after-hours…one thing can lead to another. Can Sam trust her heart and her business with the new guy?


Review

I found myself in need of a fast-paced romance and this book ticked all the right boxes. This book has good chemistry and a good set of characters, main and side. This was my first Kathryn Freeman book and it will not be the last as I really liked her style of writing.


I think the characters were really well written and I found that Sam was a really relatable and witty character that I couldn’t help but love. I did have issues with Ryan but I once I started to learn more about his character and his past I started to understand the wall he had built up around himself.


I did also find the ended quite rushed in comparison to the rest of the book. I felt that everything was just squished in and it was almost as if I had blinked and the book was suddenly over and so was the whole business plot line.


Overall, The New Guy is an entertaining read with good chemistry and characters!


Rating: 3/5 stars

bottom of page