top of page

The Majesties by Tiffany Tsao - Review and Tour


Firstly I would like to say a big thank you to Pushkin Press for allowing me to take part in this amazing book tour! As soon as I heard about this one I knew I just had to read it!

Also, be sure to check out everyone else involved in the tour! You can find their details on the banner at the bottom!


Thank you again to Pushkin Press for the gifted copy in exchange for an honest review.


Goodreads Synopsis

Gwendolyn and Estella have always been as close as sisters can be. Growing up in a wealthy, eminent, and sometimes deceitful family, they’ve relied on each other for support and confidence. But now Gwendolyn is lying in a coma, the sole survivor of Estella’s poisoning of their whole clan.


As Gwendolyn struggles to regain consciousness, she desperately retraces her memories, trying to uncover the moment that led to this shocking and brutal act. Was it their aunt’s mysterious death at sea? Estella’s unhappy marriage to a dangerously brutish man? Or were the shifting loyalties and unspoken resentments at the heart of their opulent world too much to bear? Can Gwendolyn, at last, confront the carefully buried mysteries in their family’s past and the truth about who she and her sister really are?


Review

The Majesties had me completely hooked from the beginning and made it actually impossible for me to put down and when I had to (to eat and sleep) I found myself constantly thinking about it.


Although you already know what happens to Gwendolyn's family you can't help but find yourself on the edge of your seat as she combs through her memories to see what triggered her sister to murder her whole family. I found myself fully immersed in these character's lives and everything that is unravelled along the way. Through Gwendolyn's memories you get to watch as these characters develop and change their way of living in order to accommodate their future.


However let's be clear, these characters are not loveable and there is an incredibly strong message in this book on how much wealth can corrupt a person and what lengths people will take to remain on top. It also looks into social classes and the struggles that are faced in Southeastern Asia.


I honestly could sit here and talk about this book in more detail but then I would spoil the reading experience for anyone who wants to read it. Full of twists and turns, The Majesties is a gripping and intriguing tale with an ending I still cannot get my head wrapped around! I definitely recommend picking this one up if your a fan of mysteries!


Rating: 4/5 stars





bottom of page