top of page

The Life We Almost Had by Amelia Henley - Book Tour & Review


Thank you to NetGalley and HQ for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.


Also a big thank you to HQ for allowing me to take part in the Book Tour! Please check out the banner below to see everyone else involved!

Goodreads Synopsis

This is not a typical love story, but it’s our love story. Anna wasn’t looking for love when Adam swept her off her feet but there was no denying their connection, and she believed they would be together forever. Years later, cracks have appeared in their relationship. Anna is questioning whether their love can really be eternal when a cruel twist of fate delivers a crushing blow, and Anna and Adam are completely lost to one another. Now, Anna needs Adam more than ever, but the way back to him has life-changing consequences. Is a second chance at first love really worth the sacrifice? Anna needs to decide and time is running out…


Review

Oh my god this book. I hope you have tissues at the ready because honestly I sobbed at this one. This book put me through a rollercoaster of emotions and just when you get to the top and you think everything is okay, the car you’re in suddenly drops and you don’t know which ways is up.


These characters were so incredibly relatable, and I loved their story. Having met when neither of them was truly looking for love they powered through all the obstacles that were thrown at them. You cannot help but root for these characters and this relationship. When the obstacles become too much your heart breaks along side our main characters. I sometimes find it hard to connect whole-heartedly to characters but that was not the case with this one. I felt every moment of happiness and heart-break that the two felt.


Told in different perspectives, Amelia Henley makes it feel like you’re living with Anna and Adam and feeling every single emotion alongside them. The amount of research Henley has done for this book clearly shows and I was gobsmacked about the developments in science!


It’s hard not to talk about everything that happens because I don’t want to spoil it. I want you to go out and read this book. Go on Adam and Anna’s journey, even if it is heart-wrenching and I meant what I said at the beginning, make sure you have tissues at the ready!


The Life We Almost Had is so much more than a love story. It is a story of second chances and it’s about making a sacrifice even if you know the outcome may not be the best one for you. This is a beautiful romantic debut for Amelia Henley and I cannot wait to see what she comes out with next!


Rating: 5/5 stars




bottom of page