top of page

The Last Graduate by Naomi Novik


Thank you so much to Del Rey for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. (Ad-Gifted)


Please be aware that this book is the second in The Scholomance series so this review may hold spoilers for A Deadly Education!

 

Goodreads Synopsis

At the Scholomance, El, Orion, and the other students are faced with their final year—and the looming specter of graduation, a deadly ritual that leaves few students alive in its wake. El is determined that her chosen group will survive, but it is a prospect that is looking harder by the day as the savagery of the school ramps up. Until El realizes that sometimes winning the game means throwing out all the rules . . .

 

Review

Oh. My. God.

I'm always scared when it comes to the second book in a series, especially when I love the first book but this book did not disappoint. I didn't realise how much I missed being in this world with these characters.


This book picks up where the first book ends and honestly it felt like I had never been away and I easily slipped back in and found myself eagerly turning the pages. I was always a fan of El as a main character and I loved watching as her character developed even more in this book! I also loved seeing how her relationship with Orion grew and I liked seeing a different side of Orion.


I had no idea what direction Naomi Novik was going to take this book in and honestly I did not expect that ending. The fact that I now have to wait for the next book is already driving me insane. I need it now!


Honestly, I recommend this series to everyone, especially if you love fantasy and dark academia with a sarcastic and angry main character.

 

Rating: 5/5 stars

bottom of page