top of page

The Key to Fear by Kristin Cast


Thank you so much to Head of Zeus for gifting me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review and allowing me to take part on this tour. Be sure to check out everyone else on the tour on the banner below and their reviews over in Instagram!

 

Goodreads Synopsis

To Health.

To Life.

To the Future.


We are The Key.

'No touching today for a healthy tomorrow.'


Elodie obeys The Key. Elodie obeys the rules. Elodie trusts in the system. At least, Elodie used to...


Aidan is a rebel. Aidan doesn't do what he's told. Aidan just wants to be free. Aidan is on his last chance...


After a pandemic wiped out most of the human race, The Key took power. The Key dictates the rules. They govern in order to keep people safe. But as Elodie and Aidan begin to discover there is another side to The Key, they realise not everything is as it seems.


Rather than playing protector, The Key are playing God.

 

Review

Oh my god, this book had me hooked from the very beginning and I had so much trouble putting it down!


This post-apocalyptic, dystopian world that Cast has created is so believable during the time of Covid-19 where touching is a no-no! This book really makes you consider how things could turn out in the future, with your spouse being chosen for you with no intimacy involved and science being the only way for babies to be conceived. I really enjoyed the world building in this book and the use of technology to show us how much the world has changed


The Key to Fear is such an interesting and well thought out story with great characters that developed throughout. I liked reading this from different perspectives as it helped build on the plot and the actions taken. I really liked Elodie and Aiden and how the two become linked in this journey. I also liked reading as Elodie started to realise what The Key had become, even if it did happen quite suddenly.


My only issue with this one was the small case of insta-love. I'm not a big fan of the trope and wish that the relationship had more time to develop. However, it wasn't so in your face that I couldn't carry on reading!


The Key to Fear is such a brilliant book that shows how dangerous power can be and what people will do to obtain it. I feel like it's been so long since I read a captivating dystopian and this one ticked all the boxes for me! I cannot wait to read the next book in this series and to read more of Cast's work as this was the first book I've read of hers!


Rating: 4.5/5 stars

 

bottom of page