top of page

The Existence of Amy by Lana Grace Riva


Thank you so much to Lana Grace Riva who sent me a copy of her book which she has self-published!

 

Goodreads Synopsis

Amy has a normal life. That is, if you were to go by a definition of 'no immediate obvious indicators of peculiarity', and you didn't know her very well. She has good friends, a good job, a nice enough home. This normality, however, is precariously plastered on top of a different life. A life that is Amy's real life. The only one her brain will let her lead.

 

Review

Oh my god, if you read this book make sure you have tissues nearby.


This book was heart-breaking but beautiful at the same time. Amy's story tugged at my heartstrings and has permanently attached itself their and won't ever let go. I ended up devouring this book in a few hours because it was such a realistic and relatable book. This book focuses on Amy and her mental health, so please be aware of this before you read it in case this is a trigger for you.


It was easy for me to relate to Amy in this book because of my own mental health struggles. I suffer from depression, anxiety, agoraphobia (where I really struggle to leave the house and at this point the last time I left the house was May) and recently OCD. A lot of things that Amy faces in this book and the negative thoughts are things that I experience on a daily basis and it was a good reminder that I'm not alone in my mental health struggles.


Honestly, this book had me sobbing but for all the right reasons. I felt for Amy and empathised with her and the inner battles she was facing. Lana Grace Riva has this amazing way of writing that has it leaving you needing to know more, needing to know if Amy takes control or if she let's her brain take full control.


I recommend this book to anyone who has suffered from mental health and for those who haven't but want to know what life is like for those who are suffering.

 

Rating: 4/5 stars



bottom of page