top of page

The Deep Blue Between by Ayesha Harruna Attah


I would like to say a big thank you to Pushkin Press for gifting me with a copy of this book and allowing me to take part in this amazing book tour! As soon as I heard about this one I knew I just had to read it!


Also, be sure to check out everyone else involved in the tour! You can find their details on the banner at the bottom!

 

Goodreads Synopsis

Twin sisters Hassana and Husseina's home is in ruins after a brutal raid. But this is not the end but the beginning of their story, one that will take them to unfamiliar cities and cultures, where they will forge new families, ward off dangers and truly begin to know themselves.


As the twins pursue separate paths in Brazil and the Gold Coast of West Africa, they remain connected through shared dreams of water. But will their fates ever draw them back together?


A sweeping adventure with richly evocative historical settings, The Deep Blue Between is a moving story of the bonds that can endure even the most dramatic change.

 

Review

This book was so beautiful and I loved that it was told in both of the sister's perspectives. It was so interesting to see how different the two sisters grew and developed as characters. Hassana and Husseina are two very strong yet individual characters who are thrown into new lives without each other's support and constant presence.


I really liked the idea of the two being connected by their dreams even when they are miles apart. It meant that they were never truly apart and I loved that! I have a sister and could never imagine being away from her for so long with no form of communicating!


The flow of this story is just beautiful and I admire the way the author brings so many important topics to the forefront, such as slavery, oppression, religion, loss and grief. I also loved her ability to portray such vivid details and descriptions which felt like I was transported to the countries and what was happening at these times.


With sisterhood at it's core, this was a lyrical YA novel with such a strong ending that left me feeling satisfied and content. I recommend picking this one up!


Rating: 4/5 stars

 

bottom of page