top of page

The Crystal War (Fragments 2) by Tracy Auerbach - Book Review


Thank you to NetGalley and Parliament House Press for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.


This is the second book in the series so please be aware that there will be spoilers in this review. I've also reviewed the first book here if you're interested.


This story starts off five weeks after the end of the first one and it quickly re-capped what had previously happened which I was entirely thankful for that because I'm really bad at remembering what happens in books after a while. I'm so happy to be back in this interesting and unique world that Tracy Auerbach has created.


With the first book I struggled to feel emotionally connected to the characters but this was not the case with this book. My heart broke for Finn and for Charlie, I honestly just wanted to hold them and never let them go! I also really liked the development of Aric who we didn't get to see too much of in the first book.


Whilst I liked what Tracy Auerbach had done with Tessa's character I found her POV to be a little bit boring and ended up skimming some of it. She was one of my favourites from the first book and I felt detached from her character and her development.


This was a solid second book with a plot line that had me hooked and left me unable to put it down (I ended up reading this in one night). The world and the compound system are so well thought through and so different to most books that I've read. One of my favourite things about this book is the different POV's, I feel like it helps expand the world building and lets you see inside each characters motives and thoughts.


Overall this was a very enjoyable read for me and I cannot wait for the next book in the series!


Rating: 4/5 stars


bottom of page