top of page

The Charmed Wife by Olga Grushin


Thank you so much to NetGalley and Hodder & Stroughton books for providing me with a copy in exchange for my honest opinion. (ad-gifted).

 

Goodreads Synopsis

Cinderella married the man of her dreams - the perfect ending she deserved after diligently following all the fairy-tale rules. Yet now, two children and thirteen-and-a-half years later, things have gone badly wrong.


One night, she sneaks out of the palace to get help from the Witch who, for a price, offers love potions to disgruntled housewives. But as the old hag flings the last ingredients into the cauldron, Cinderella doesn't ask for a love spell to win back her Prince Charming.


Instead, she wants him dead.

 

Review

This was such an interesting and compelling story that had me eagerly turning the page. I loved the premise of this book and it was beautifully written. ⁣

I loved how transported I felt and I loved playing spot the princess or fairy tale! The thing I loved the most about this book was the notion that life doesn't always have a happily ever after and the unrealistic side of relationships in these fairy tales, which is something I've sadly come to realise in real life!


This book also takes on a lot of mature content such as affairs, drug taking and mental health, which I was not expecting but it really does help add to the story and how Cinderella is thinking.

It's hard to talk more about this story without wanting to give it all away so you have to just trust me on this one! The Charmed Wife was an interesting and unique book that has some very important messages throughout! ⁣Whilst it got a bit confusing for me nearer the end (again I can't discuss this as it would give away ALOT) I still found myself finding it hard to put down.

 

Rating: 3/5 stars

bottom of page