top of page

The Bone Shard Daughter by Andrea Stewart


Thank you to NetGalley and Little, Brown Book Group UK for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

 

Goodreads Synopsis

In an empire controlled by bone shard magic, Lin, the former heir to the emperor will fight to reclaim her magic and her place on the throne. The Bone Shard Daughter marks the debut of a major new voice in epic fantasy. The emperor's reign has lasted for decades, his mastery of bone shard magic powering the animal-like constructs that maintain law and order. But now his rule is failing, and revolution is sweeping across the Empire's many islands. Lin is the emperor's daughter and spends her days trapped in a palace of locked doors and dark secrets. When her father refuses to recognise her as heir to the throne, she vows to prove her worth by mastering the forbidden art of bone shard magic. Yet such power carries a great cost, and when the revolution reaches the gates of the palace, Lin must decide how far she is willing to go to claim her birthright - and save her people.

 

Review

Oh my god, this book was brilliant. As I’m writing this it has been a few days since I finished it and I cannot stop thinking about it. I had seen The Bone Shard Daughter around a lot on bookstagram and twitter and found myself falling in love with the cover of the book! I mean, just look at it! Once I read the synopsis, I knew this was a book I needed to read.


Andrea Stewart has this magical way of writing that instantly captivates you and has you needing more. The amount of detail and world building is brilliant, and I found myself intrigued by the idea of the constructs and how bone shard magic works!


In this book you get five different perspectives. You have Lin and Jovis who are told in first person with Phalue, Ranami and Sand written in third person. At first I found this a bit strange but honestly, I soon began to not even notice and found that it added to the story and development of these individual characters. Also can we take a moment to talk about Mephi? I am completely and utterly obsessed with him and cannot wait to learn more about his species!


There was a moment in this book when everything just clicked into place for me and there is honestly no better feeling then realising what an author has done and planned to get to that certain point in the story when everything comes to light. You know that something is going to happen and when it does it hits you like a ton of bricks.


The Bone Shard Daughter is an epic and fantastic fantasy debut! This has definitely become one of my favourite books of 2020 and I cannot wait to read the next one when it comes out!

 

Rating: 5/5 stars

bottom of page