top of page

The Best Man Problem by Mariah Ankenman - Book Review

Thank you to NetGalley and Entangled Publishing for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.


Goodreads Synopsis

Lilly Walsh is used to keeping things buttoned-up and aboveboard. After all, the last time she hooked up with someone in a wedding party, it nearly cost her the wedding planning business she owns. Thankfully, those rules don’t apply when she meets a handsome stranger in a hotel bar. One bad pirate joke leads to the best night of her life, but come morning, she’s got a wedding to plan.


Lincoln Reid never imagined he’d see the woman who rocked his world last night and then ran out on him ever again. But there she is, planning his best friend’s wedding with the same passion and drive that brought him to his knees. She’s adamant that wedding planner and best man can never mix, but that just means he’s got four weeks to make her see him as more than just a one-night guy. Because he’s itching for more than one night...or five, or ten…


Review

Mariah Ankenman has done it again. Although the second book in her Mile High Happiness series this can be read as a standalone and I honestly recommend it. Ankenman’s writing style has you emotionally invested in these character’s stories and makes it impossible for you to put down and craving more when its over.


This book follows Lilly, who I found myself connecting with in the first book in the series ‘The Best Friend Problem’ and was so happy that this book focused on her and the possibility of a new romance. Lilly has made mistakes which she has learnt from and put in security measures to make sure they never happen again. She is detail orientated and relies on making lists to determine how she feels. It was nice to see her struggle with her beliefs and face her own feelings about her past.


I adored Lincoln and he really was a man after my own heart. Computer genius who loves to play arcade games and RPG’s?! Where do I sign up for a Lincoln of my own? I found myself just falling in love with more and more as the book went on!


This is a book about friendships, shaping your past and being compatible with other people even if you don’t have a lot in common. I love this series and I cannot wait for Ankenman’s next book which will hopefully follow Mo!


Rating: 4/5 stars

bottom of page