top of page

Rescue Me By Sara Manning


Before we start I want to say thank you so much to Hodder & Stoughton for sending me an advance copy of Rescue Me and allowing me to take part in this amazing book tour! Whilst this is mainly over on Instagram and Twitter I couldn't help but share my review on here because I really enjoyed it! It's also a great review to start 2021 with!


Also be sure to check out everyone else on the tour on the banner below!

 

Goodreads Synopsis

Margot and Will cross paths at the local dog rescue centre where – after a series of misunderstandings and a lot of consternation – they agree to foster Blossom (a staffy with a giant head, soft, floppy ears and kohl-rimmed brown eyes) together: one week on, one week off.


Margot and Will don’t get off to the best of starts: he thinks Margot is demanding and needy and Just So Much. And she thinks Will is emotionally unavailable, slightly brittle and very mistrustful. They’re both right.


But the more they bicker, the worse Blossom behaves, and they realise they have to form some sort of truce in order to dog-parent (or “pawrent” as Margot calls it, to which Will rolls his eyes) her together. It’s almost as if Blossom has plans of her own…

 

Review

This book was so good and was such an enjoyable read that had me hooked throughout. This is not your average romance novel. This book deals with a lot of different topics, so please be warned of trigger alerts such as grief, low self-esteem and abuse (if you want to know more then drop me a message either on here or over on my instagram @oncemorewithreading).


I loved the concept of two people falling in love with a dog at a shelter and co-parenting, especially when they are complete strangers at different stages in their lives. Now lets be clear these characters start off as somewhat unlikeable but you can't help but grow to love them as the story goes on and you learn more about them.


Margot is a strong character who has been burned in love. Having lost her parents at such a young age, she feels like her body clock is ticking away. She feels like she's running out of time, especially when all her friends are in established relationships and moving on with their lives. She's no longer looking for love but for someone who wants a family as soon as possible. I liked Margot a lot, even if she did frustrate me with how she was ignoring any connection she had with men in favour for if they were ready for a family. She was a very realistic character, one I could relate to especially in her times of loneliness.


Will is such an interesting character, having grown up in a bad environment that forced him to constantly be striving for more in life and having an incredibly low sense of worth. After the death of his Grandparents in a short time, he comes back home and helps out at the family floristry doing the accounts. I loved his family so much and how supportive they were of each other. It was also so good to watch as Blossom slowly helped break him out of his shell and I found that the two were very much alike.


Talking about Blossom, she was the star of the book and made this story so much more enjoyable. I loved how she pushed the boundaries and honestly just messed with both Will and Margot!


Overall this was such a fun, lovely and cute book that tugged at my heart strings. Sara Manning has a beautiful way of writing that draws you in and you never want to leave! I definitely recommend giving this one a read if you love a good contemporary romance!

 

Rating: 4/5 stars




bottom of page