top of page

Red Wolf by Rachel Vincent


Thank you so much to Harper360 for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review (ad-gifted).

 

Goodreads Synopsis

For as long as sixteen-year-old Adele can remember the village of Oakvale has been surrounding by the dark woods—a forest filled with terrible monsters that light cannot penetrate. Like every person who grows up in Oakvale she has been told to steer clear of the woods unless absolutely necessary.


But unlike her neighbours in Oakvale, Adele has a very good reason for going into the woods. Adele is one of a long line of guardians, women who are able to change into wolves and who are tasked with the job of protecting their village while never letting any of the villagers know of their existence.


But when following her calling means abandoning the person she loves, the future she imagined for herself, and her values she must decide how far she is willing to go to keep her neighbours safe.

 

Review

I'm a sucker for retellings so when I saw that this was a retelling of Red Riding Hood I knew I had to read it. This book did not disappoint and I loved how Vincent has put a spin on the original story.


Now, I'll try to be careful here because I don't want to spoil the story so this might be a short review but that doesn't take away from how much I loved this book. Adele is a great character who goes through a lot in this book. Her whole life is flipped upside down and you couldn't help but feel sorry for her as she struggled with new revelations and responsibilities put upon her.


This was a quick read, one that I devoured in one sitting. The pacing was perfect and honestly I'm hoping for another book in this world! This is my first Rachel Vincent book but will not be my last! I loved her writing and her world building. I recommend this book to anyone who loves a good retelling!

 

Rating: 4/5 stars



bottom of page