top of page

Queen of Volts (The Shadow Games #3) by Amanda Foody



Thank you to NetGalley and HQ for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.


Please be aware that this is the final book in The Shadow Game trilogy and there will be spoilers for the first two books.

 

Goodreads Synopsis

Return to the City of Sin, where the final game is about to begin…and winning will demand the ultimate sacrifice. Only days after a corrupt election and brutal street war, one last bloodthirsty game has begun. The players? The twenty-two most powerful, notorious people in New Reynes. After realizing they have no choice but to play, Enne Scordata and Levi Glaisyer are desperate to forge new alliances and bargain for their safety. But while Levi offers false smiles and an even falser peace to the city’s politicians, Enne must face a world where her true Mizer identity has been revealed…and any misstep could turn deadly. Meanwhile, a far more dangerous opponent has appeared on the board, one plucked right from the most gruesome legends of New Reynes. As the game takes its final, vicious turn, Levi and Enne must decide once and for all whether to be partners or enemies. Because in a game for survival, there are only losers… And monsters.

 

Review

Before I start I would like to just reiterate Amanda Foody’s content warnings for this book. These have come from her own website.


Content warnings: extreme violence, death, grief, attempted suicide/suicidal ideation, PTSD, toxic and abusive relationships (particularly regarding a parent and a romantic partner), addiction, emetophobia


Now on to the review…

Oh my god, Amanda Foody has done it again. This book was beyond perfect and as I’m sitting here writing this review I’m sad that it’s over. I’m sad that I won’t get to go back to the City of Sin with all these characters who I have grown to love and adore over the trilogy.

This epic conclusion had me smiling, laughing and crying ugly tears countless times (if you’ve read it then you know…). Amanda Foody’s writing style is just brilliant and captivating to the point I found myself struggling to put this book down when my body was screaming for sleep. When I did finally sleep it slipped into my dreams and it was one of the best sleeps I’ve had in a long time!


Told from multiple perspectives, Queen of Volts takes you on their journey and you find yourself learning so much more about each and everyone of them. I really enjoyed reading from Harvey, Sophia and Lola’s perspective in this one, especially with the groups being as split up as they were. It helped aid the storyline and I never felt myself bored of anyone’s perspectives which I have found can happen when there is a large amount of them.


I still love Enne and Levi so much and it’s amazing to see how much their characters have developed over the span of this trilogy. The trials and tribulations that these two characters have been on is insane but it has definitely helped shaped who they are as individuals and what they want out of their lives. They’re both strong in their own right and I loved going on this adventure with them both, even when they were acting recklessly and making stupid decisions that had my heart racing.


I could sit here for a very long time and talk about how much I loved this book and trilogy. I could talk about how perfectly paced it was or how on point the plot line was for the final book but I need you to read it. I need you to read this series if you haven’t already and fall in love with these characters just as much as I did.


This is undeniably one of my all time favourite series and if you haven't read it yet then what are you waiting for?!

 

Rating: 5/5 stars

bottom of page