top of page

Party of Two by Jasmine Guillory - Book Review


Thank you to NetGalley and Headline for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.


Goodreads Synopsis

Dating is the last thing on Olivia Monroe's mind when she moves to LA to start her own law firm. But when she meets a gorgeous man at a hotel bar and they spend the entire night flirting, she discovers too late that he is none other than hotshot junior senator Max Powell. Olivia has zero interest in dating a politician, but when a cake arrives at her office with the cutest message, she can't resist--it is chocolate cake, after all. Olivia is surprised to find that Max is sweet, funny, and noble--not just some privileged white politician she assumed him to be. Because of Max's high-profile job, they start seeing each other secretly, which leads to clandestine dates and silly disguises. But when they finally go public, the intense media scrutiny means people are now digging up her rocky past and criticizing her job, even her suitability as a trophy girlfriend. Olivia knows what she has with Max is something special, but is it strong enough to survive the heat of the spotlight?


Review

So I read this one without reading the others in the Wedding Date series but you can read any of them as a standalone. I never once felt like I was out of the loop or there was a secret plot point that I had missed out on.


This book was such a fun read! It was incredibly light-hearted, cute and entertaining. I liked the characters that Jasmine Guillory has created and the dynamic between the two. Olivia is a very strong female character who is not only smart but giving and careful with every little decision she makes. Max is in the public eye and whilst he can be somewhat arrogant, he does really care for Olivia and making a change to the criminal justice system.


Something I commend this book for is the topic of racism and how hard it is for Olivia. Not only is she a woman and facing hardship that way but she is also constantly worried about being discriminated for the colour of her skin. This is a hard-hitting topic that is incredibly relevant in real life.


However, this was like most romance contemporary novels I’ve read with a somewhat predictable plot line and ending. At times I sadly found myself bored and wanting something to really happen. I think that if I wasn’t such an avid fan of romance books then this would have gotten a higher rating.


Overall this book did what I wanted it to achieve. I wanted a cute and quick romance book and that’s what it was and I can’t fault it for that. I think I might try and pick up the other books in the series and see how I feel about them.


Rating: 3.5/5 stars

bottom of page