top of page

New Beginnings at The Birdie and Bramble

Thank you to NetGalley and Orion Publishing Group for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.


Goodreads Synopsis:

Can going home be a fresh start?


The Birdie & Bramble used to have queues out the door, especially during high season in St Andrews, but when Maddy Campbell makes her way back home, the restaurant looks a little worse for wear.


After her father's sudden death, Maddy isn't quite sure how she's going to face the world without him. She can't stay in Scotland or their cosy flat over the restaurant without him. But when she tries to sell the business so she can return to London and run from her past, she discovers the restaurant is hardly worth anything at all.


Maddy can't let her father's legacy be treated this way, so together with her dad's best friends and The Birdie & Bramble staff, she begins to revitalise the restaurant. Maybe if she can save The Birdie & Bramble, then she might just be able to make her dad proud of her again...


Review:

New Beginnings at The Birdie and Bramble is the first novel by Alison Craig that I’ve read and I can honestly say that I will be picking up more of her work in the future. I really liked her style of writing and found this an easy book to read. Her writing is so descriptive and I could honestly picture everything she was describing, especially the food!


This is a story about finding strength and figuring out what you want out of life. It has ups and it has downs just like real life and I felt myself really liking Maddy and everyone in this book. The characters in this book were brilliantly written and all had their own paths of development which I really enjoyed reading about. This is the first book in a series and I cannot wait to continue to read about this group of people and The Birdie and Bramble (which is someone where I would definitely visit frequently!)


I don’t want to go into too much detail with this book as I don’t want to spoil anything but it really is worth the read if you’re looking for a story which focuses on family, friends and fresh starts!


Rating: 4/5 stars

bottom of page