top of page

The Never Have I Ever Club by Mary Jayne Baker - Book Review



Thank you to NetGalley and Aria for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.


Goodreads Synopsis

Robyn Bloom thought Ash Barnes was the love of her life – until one day he announced he was leaving her to fly halfway across the world.

Months later, Robyn is struggling to move on – but then she has a brainwave: The Never Have I Ever Club. Her handsome next-door neighbour Will helps her bring their fellow Yorkshire villagers together for some carpe-diem-inspired fun.

From burlesque dancing to Swedish massages, everyone has plenty of bucket-list activities to try, but it doesn't take long for Robyn to realise what – or who – her heart truly desires: Will. There's just one problem: he's Ash's twin brother. Make that two problems: Ash is moving home... and he wants Robyn back.


Review

I went into this book quite nervously as A Question of Us was one of my favourite books of last year. I can gladly say that this book did not disappoint. I absolutely loved this book and quickly found myself loving the characters, especially Robyn and Will.


Whilst I wasn’t sure about the whole twin brother situation, Will and Ash were completely different characters and I feel like Mary Jayne Baker did an excellent job in making the two have their own personalities. Robyn is such a fun character and I loved her relationship with her Aunty Fliss. I loved how confident she became and how invested she became in the club and everyone’s feelings.


Talking about the club, I loved the idea of this club and the wide range of characters in introduced. They were all so interesting and brought so much to the book. I loved how open everyone was about their lives and I loved all the little secrets that came out. Another thing I love about this book is how unapologetically British this book is. I love the use of slang and it honestly makes a difference because I tend to read a lot of contemporary based in the US.


This book gave me a rollercoaster of emotions and had me crying at points, especially nearer the end but it also made me laugh and smile. This was a beautiful, funny, feel-good romance that had me hooked from the very beginning. Mary Jayne Baker has this incredible way of creating characters that you wish you knew in real life. I cannot wait for her next book and recommend picking The Never Have I Ever Club and A Question of Us up!


Rating: 5/5 stars

bottom of page