top of page

Nameless Queen by Rebecca Mclaughlin - Book Review



Goodreads Synopsis

Everyone expected the king's daughter would inherit the throne. No one expected me.


It shouldn't even be possible. I'm Nameless, a class of citizens so disrespected, we don't even get names. Heck, dozens of us have been going missing for months and no one seems to care.


But there's no denying the tattoo emblazoned on my arm. I am queen. In a palace where the corridors are more dangerous the streets, though, how could I possibly rule? And what will become of the Nameless if I don't?


Review

Nameless Queen was selected as Bookstaholics Anonymous's June's read-along of the month and just by the synopsis I knew I had to read it.


I went into this book not knowing much about it and was pleasantly surprised by the outcome. I loved the idea of it all and I really liked the characters, especially Coin who has lived on the streets her whole life and had to adapt day to day. She's independent and incredibly strong willed which makes her the perfect protagonist. I also really enjoyed her friendships in this book and the side characters in general!


This book was well-written, fast-paced and action packed. It's also really rare for me to read a YA fantasy with no romance! I'm so used to romance that this book was honestly a breath of fresh air! I loved the whole concept of this book and the idea that royalty is passed on generation to generation just by speaking the name of the next ruler!


However I do wish that there had been more world building. Whilst I liked the idea of the different classes and the reality of inequality I would have liked to have known more about how it got like this, how kids and families were nameless. I also do wish that Coin had struggled more with using her powers and in turn not making it so easy for her.


Overall this was a very good YA fantasy, especially for a debut novel! I recommend picking this one up!


Rating: 4/5 stars

bottom of page