top of page

My Best Friend's Royal Wedding by Romy Sommer - Book Review


Thank you to NetGalley and Harper Impulse and Killer Reads for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.


Goodreads Synopsis

Cocktail waitress Khara Thomas never expected to trade the dazzling lights of Vegas for European aristocracy but as maid of honour in the royal wedding of the decade she’s forced into an unexpected spotlight when her best friend marries a prince.


Luckily for Khara, gorgeous but infuriating best man Adam Hatton is happy to show her the ropes. Khara knows Adam’s entitled rich guy type but as their connection grows she realises there’s more to this playboy than meets the eye. And when she learns his royal secret? She might just find that fairytales do come true…


Review

Before I start, I should make it clear that this is actually the second book in a series however can be read as a standalone which is what I did. The first book covers the story of Khara’s best friend and how she meets her soon to be husband.


This was a cute book and probably came out at the right time in terms of all the hype in royal based contemporaries. I liked the writing style and the concept of this story and is honestly perfect for those who love a good Hallmark movie. It was cute, it was cheesy and it was a quick, fluffy read.


However, there were a lot of times the book just fell a bit flat for me. I found it incredibly hard to connect with the two main characters at time and was left frustrated at their behaviour. I found myself struggling to find myself emotionally connected to the story, but that could be down to the fact that it feels like I’m falling into a bit of a book slump.


Overall it was a cute read and would be the perfect Hallmark movie!


Rating: 3/5 stars

bottom of page