top of page

Monstrous Design by Kat Dunn


Thank you so much to Zephr for sending me a copy of this book and allowing me to take part in this amazing tour! Make sure you check out everyone else on the tour below! Ad-gifted.


This is the second book in the series so please be aware that this will contain some spoilers for Dangerous Remedy. I was lucky enough to take part in the tour for that one that you can read here.

 

Goodreads Synopsis

Following the thrills and spills of Dangerous Remedy, the Battalion of the Dead return in a dazzling new adventure, set amid the opulence and squalour of 18th-century London and Paris.


1794, London: Camille and Al are desperately hunting Olympe's kidnapper. From the glamorous excesses of the Vauxhall Pleasure Gardens to the city's seedy underbelly, they are caught in a dangerous game of lies and deceit. And a terrible new enemy lies in wait with designs more monstrous than they could ever imagine... Can Camille play on to the end or will she be forced to show her hand?


In Paris, the Duc is playing his own dangerous games. With Ada in his thrall, old loyalties are thrown into question. The Battalion are torn apart as never before, and everything – Ada's love for Camille, her allegiance to the battalion itself – is under threat.

 

Review

This book picks up right as Dangerous Remedy ends and even gives us a recap of what had happened so far, which for me I absolutely loved because no matter how much I love a book I do struggle to remember certain plot points and character names! Having a recap allowed me to dive straight into this story and I ended up devouring it!


I absolutely loved this book and I loved being back in this amazing world that Dunn has created. I'm always concerned with second books as a lot tend to suffer from the second book syndrome but this was not the case. Monstrous Design added so much to the story and was full of action from the get-go.


I loved the multiple POVs, especially seeing it from James' view as I felt like it really added to the story and the development of these characters. I already loved Ada and Camille from Dangerous Remedy and this book just increased my love for these characters, along with the rest of the group who we got to learn more about.


I am so excited to read the next book in this series to see where it takes this group next, especially with how this one ended! If you're looking for an new YA fantasy series then I definitely recommend this one! Kat Dunn's writing is just beautiful and I love this world she has created!


Rating: 4/5 stars

 


bottom of page