top of page

Lore by Alexandra Bracken


Firstly, how beautiful is this edition of Lore that came in January's FairyLoot?! I am obsessed!


Secondly, I was so happy to read this along with the girls from @Bookstaholica_anonymous (if you aren't following on insta then please go do!) We had such a fun talk about the book and I can say that they all heavily influenced a lot of my newest book purchases. I am on a heavy Greek Mythology binge the month of March and I'm not the slightest bit mad ahaha. I'm currently reading Circe and LOVING it!


Anyway shall we get on with the review?

 

Goodreads Synopsis

Every seven years, the Agon begins. As punishment for a past rebellion, nine Greek gods are forced to walk the earth as mortals, hunted by the descendants of ancient bloodlines, all eager to kill a god and seize their divine power and immortality.


Long ago, Lore Perseous fled that brutal world in the wake of her family's sadistic murder by a rival line, turning her back on the hunt's promises of eternal glory. For years she's pushed away any thought of revenge against the man--now a god--responsible for their deaths.


Yet as the next hunt dawns over New York City, two participants seek out her help: Castor, a childhood friend of Lore believed long dead, and a gravely wounded Athena, among the last of the original gods.


The goddess offers an alliance against their mutual enemy and, at last, a way for Lore to leave the Agon behind forever. But Lore's decision to bind her fate to Athena's and rejoin the hunt will come at a deadly cost--and still may not be enough to stop the rise of a new god with the power to bring humanity to its knees.

 

Review

From the synopsis alone I knew that I wanted to read this one. Honestly, it sounded so amazing so when the club said that it had one February's book club pick I leapt at the chance the read it because if you're anything like me I don't tend to get to my new purchases for a while thanks to my large and ever growing TBR.


The writing, the characters and the whole plot in general were spot on and I absolutely loved everything about it. I've only ever read the first book in the Darkest Minds series and I had forgotten how much I love Bracken's writing and world building. Every little detail was covered and it all just clicked into place for me.


Bracken managed to grasp hold of me and I never wanted her to let me go. Whilst I could happily read a whole series based about Lore and these characters I'm glad that this is a standalone as it was just right. There was no filler, no boring or dragged out bits - it flew perfectly and smoothly making for a better experience.


Full of non-stop action, amazing characters, and twists that I, and the rest of the club, never saw coming I recommend picking this book up. Don't worry if you don't have much mythology knowledge as this book really helps explain and provides so much backstory you'll think yourself and expert at the end of it!

 

Rating: 5/5 stars

bottom of page