top of page

Illumicrate - Squad Goals April 2020

About Illumicrate and my journey as a subscriber...

Illumicrate are a monthly subscription box based in the UK. They are dedicated to bringing you the best new releases and each month you'll receive a carefully curated monthly box with a newly released book and around 4-6 bookish goodies.

I've only been subscribed to Illumicrate for just over half a year and I can honestly say that the customer service provided by Illumicrate and their team is amazing. They are so on the ball with it all and are quick to update you about any little changes/delays. They are incredibly swift at replying and even getting the boxes shipped out!

So, let's have a look at what was in April's box! Please be aware that from here there may be spoilers if you have not yet received your box!


Items included in this box

  • A Gilded Wolves Magnetic whiteboard with artwork by @aenteereads

  • A set of The Witchlands character bookmarks which were designed by @merwildandco

  • A Best Laid Plans pen created by Illumicrate

  • The beautiful tote bag inspired by The Lord of The Rings and was designed by @rachelbosticillustration

  • An Aurora Rising power bank with artwork by @icandrawthingz

  • The book for this month is Dangerous Remedy by Kat Dunn which has exclusive sprayed edges, endpapers, embossing under the dust jacket and a signed bookplate. It also came with a character art print from @NicolaDeanArt.

Book Synopsis: Camille, a revolutionary's daughter, leads a band of outcasts – a runaway girl, a deserter, an aristocrat in hiding. As the Battalion des Mortes they cheat death, saving those about to meet a bloody end at the blade of Madame La Guillotine. But their latest rescue is not what she seems. The girl's no aristocrat, but her dark and disturbing powers means both the Royalists and the Revolutionaries want her. But who and what is she? In these dangerous days, no one can be trusted, everyone is to be feared. As Camille learns the truth, she's forced to choose between loyalty to those she loves and the future.


My thoughts on this month's box...

I really loved this box! I had been lucky enough to get an Advance Readers copy of Dangerous Remedy and really enjoyed it so I was happy to have a final copy, especially in hardback as Kat Dunn had to push back the physical release of this book due to Covid-19. Honestly, go pick it up on e-book if you didn't get this box and are interested in it!


Another favourite item of mine was the power bank. I had just finished Aurora Rising just before getting this box so it was so nice to have merch for it, especially because I loved this squad!


I loved the tote bag and the quality of it but I quickly lost it to my mum who absolutely loves the series.


I don't think I'll get much use out of the whiteboard as my fridge is already full but I'm sure I can find a use for it in future pictures! Also I have yet to read the Witchlands series (don't hate me, it's on my TBR!) but they are absolutely stunning!


I cannot wait to see what we might get in the next box 'Monstrous' - it sounds amazing!


How to Subscribe

If you would like more information on Illumicrate such as prices and how to subscribe then please go visit their website www.illumicrate.com




bottom of page