top of page

Illumicrate - Monstrous May 2020

About Illumicrate and my journey as a subscriber...

Illumicrate are a monthly subscription box based in the UK. They are dedicated to bringing you the best new releases and each month you'll receive a carefully curated monthly box with a newly released book and around 4-6 bookish goodies.

I've only been subscribed to Illumicrate for just over half a year and I can honestly say that the customer service provided by Illumicrate and their team is amazing. They are so on the ball with it all and are quick to update you about any little changes/delays. They are incredibly swift at replying and even getting the boxes shipped out!

So, let's have a look at what was May's box! Please be aware that from here there may be spoilers if you have not yet received your box!


Items included in this month's box

  • A Howl's moving castle phone stand with artwork by @fableandblack

  • Mercado De La Muerte hot chocolate created by @thetealeafcompany

  • The Witcher and his bard post-it notes inspired by The Witcher series with artwork by @thousandwrecks

  • A Chamber of Secrets inspired book sleeve with artwork by @pauhami

  • A monsters and mythology decal set with artwork by @lioninthetrees - mine was missing from this box. I have emailed and Illumicrate were quick to respond. I am now just waiting for them to be sent out.

The book of the month was The Girl and the Stars with sprayed edges, an authors note and is signed by Mark Lawrence himself.


Synopsis In the ice, east of the Black Rock, there is a hole into which broken children are thrown.


On Abeth the vastness of the ice holds no room for individuals. Survival together is barely possible. No one survives alone.


To resist the cold, to endure the months of night when even the air itself begins to freeze, requires a special breed. Variation is dangerous, difference is fatal. And Yaz is not the same.


Yaz is torn from the only life she’s ever known, away from her family, from the boy she thought she would spend her days with, and has to carve out a new path for herself in a world whose existence she never suspected. A world full of difference and mystery and danger.


Yaz learns that Abeth is older and stranger than she had ever imagined. She learns that her weaknesses are another kind of strength. And she learns to challenge the cruel arithmetic of survival that has always governed her people.


Only when it’s darkest you can see the stars.

My thoughts on this month's box

I have mixed feelings about this month's box but it's definitely down to personal preference.

I'm not a big hot drink fan so tea/coffee/hot chocolate is usually wasted on me. I am also unsure on if I like the book sleeve. Whilst it is beautiful I just don't like the basilisk's design - again this is just personal preference.


I really like the phone stand and the post-it notes (which I quickly lost to my brother who is a big Witcher fan). In regards to the book I am quite excited to read it as I have been seeing it all over Bookstagram and it honestly sounds so interesting!!


How to Subscribe

If you would like more information on Illumicrate such as prices and how to subscribe then please go visit their website www.illumicrate.com

bottom of page