top of page

Hello Again by Isabelle Broom - Book Review


Thank you to NetGalley and Hodder & Stoughton for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.


Goodreads Synopsis

Philippa Taylor (Pepper to her friends) has big dreams. When she closes her eyes, she can picture exactly who she ought to be. The problem is, it's about as far away from her real life in a small coastal town in Suffolk as she can imagine.


So when her elderly friend Josephine persuades Pepper to accompany her on a trip to Europe, she jumps at the chance to change her routine. And when Pepper bumps (literally) into the handsome Finn in Lisbon, it seems as though she might have finally found what she's been looking for.


But Pepper know all too well things are rarely as they seem. Her own quiet life hides a dark secret from the past. And even though she and Finn may have been destined to find each other, Pepper suspects life may have other plans as to how the story should end.


Review

So I don’t think I’ve requested a book so quickly! I absolutely adored One Winter Morning when I read it last year and knew I was going to love Hello Again.


Isabelle Broom has this amazing way of writing that captivates you and leaves you in absolute awe. Her writing makes me want to travel to every destination in this book simply for how beautiful she describes them. I felt myself being transported to these different locations alongside Pepper and Josephine.


Pepper was an interesting main character. Not only is she struggling with grief and how it has ultimately affected her family, she’s struggling to get her life to where she dreamed it would be. She hates everything that she creates and has no faith in herself or her talent. She’s an incredibly strong character who has gone through so much in her life and I grew to really love Pepper and her journey in this book.


However I must admit that my favourite character in the whole of the book was Josephine. I couldn’t help but become so attached to her character and her mission. She had a great sense of humour and I loved learning more about her life.


Hello Again is a story about friendship, it’s about finding love and allowing yourself to be open to the opportunity and most of all its about the journey and not the destination. This book had a couple of amazing twists that had me audibly gasping. My only qualm with this book was that at points it felt a little bit slow but otherwise it was such a fun, adventurous read.


Although I have only read two of Isabelle Broom’s books she has already become an instant read/request/buy. I definitely recommend picking up Hello Again if you’re a fan of beautifully written contemporaries that take you on an amazing journey!


Rating: 4/5 stars

Comments


bottom of page