top of page

Good Girl, Bad Blood (AGGGTM #2) by Holly Jackson - Book Review


Please note that this is the second book in a series and will contain spoilers for the first book (which I previously reviewed here). You have been warned!


I was lucky enough to win a competition run by the publisher, Electric Monkey, so I did get given this book for free but that in no way effects my review.

Goodreads Synopsis

Pip Fitz-Amobi is not a detective any more.


With the help of Ravi Singh, she released a true-crime podcast about the murder case they solved together last year. The podcast has gone viral, yet Pip insists her investigating days are behind her.


But she will have to break that promise when someone she knows goes missing. Jamie Reynolds has disappeared but the police won’t do anything about it. And if they won’t look for Jamie then Pip will, uncovering more of her town’s dark secrets along the way… and this time EVERYONE is listening. But will she find him before it’s too late?


Review

I read this book in four hours and in one sitting. It was such a good book and I honestly could not guess who was involved in this investigation. Holly Jackson has this amazing way of keeping you completely hooked and second guessing every single decision or every little sentence made by a character.


What I love the most about this book is the format it's told in, such as interviews, diagrams and articles. I love when books do this and it was something that made me love the first book in the series. It makes the whole experience so much more exciting and interesting!


I love Pip and Ravi so god damn much and I loved how although they are now a couple it wasn't shoved in your face and they weren't at each other's side the whole time. I also liked learning more about characters that were briefly introduced in the first book, like Connor, whilst not ignoring previously introduced characters like Cara.


In terms of character development I really loved Pip's in this book. She understands how her life has changed, how things that once brought enjoyment no longer do and she's lost. he wanted to step away from being a detective but she's forced into this situation that she has no choice but to take on. We get to see a lot of the struggles she and her family go through in this book and it was so eye-opening and honestly made me love Pip even more.


Honestly, I could sit here and rave about this book for hours. I loved everything about it and cannot wait to read the next book in the series. Holly Jackson is such an amazing author who has now become an instant buy for me. If you have have not picked this book up yet and you loved A Good Girl's Guide to Murder then please go do it. You will not regret it!


Rating: 5/5 stars

bottom of page