top of page

Girl, 11 by Amy Suiter Clarke


Thank you so much to Pushkin Press for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review! Ad-Gifted


Goodreads Synopsis

The countdown has begun...


True-crime podcaster Elle Castillo has been obsessed with The Countdown Killer for decades. Twenty years ago, he established a gruesome pattern of taking and murdering three girls over seven days, each a year younger than the last. No one's ever known why he followed this pattern, or why they stopped abruptly after the eleventh victim. Most believe him to be dead. Elle knows he is not and is hellbent on serving historic justice.


When the kidnappings start up once again, Elle must confront her responsibility in forcing the killer out of hiding. She needs to stop the deadly countdown and convince both the authorities and her podcast audience, before the Countdown Killer can claim his next victim.

 

Review

The fact that Girl, 11 is Clarke's debut novel blows my mind as this book was phenomenal and addictive. This book had me on the edge of my seat and audibly gasping throughout when new things were revealed.


Girl, 11 is told in both Podcasts and Elle's day to day life with tension rising from the very beginning as you start to learn more about the Countdown Killer and he's previous victims. I really loved this format as I'm a complete sucker for books that aren't conventional in their storytelling.


Whilst Elle was reckless at times, I couldn't help but find myself growing attached to her character and her story. She's a strong character who is willing to do anything she can in order to figure out who might be the next victim.


I devoured the story so quickly because I needed to know what happened! I could honestly keep talking about this book, the twists and turns and all the revelations however I don't want to spoil the book for anyone! If you love a good mystery thrillers then this one is definitely for you!


Girl, 11 is full of suspense with heart-rate inducing twists that you will not see coming! It is one of my favourite mystery thrillers of 2021!


Rating: 5/5 stars



bottom of page