top of page

Furyborn by Claire Legrand


Goodreads synopsis

When assassins ambush her best friend, Rielle Dardenne risks everything to save him, exposing herself as one of a pair of prophesied queens: a queen of light, and a queen of blood. To prove she is the Sun Queen, Rielle must endure seven elemental magic trials. If she fails, she will be executed...unless the trials kill her first.


One thousand years later, the legend of Queen Rielle is a fairy tale to Eliana Ferracora. A bounty hunter for the Undying Empire, Eliana believes herself untouchable--until her mother vanishes. To find her, Eliana joins a rebel captain and discovers that the evil at the empire's heart is more terrible than she ever imagined.


As Rielle and Eliana fight in a cosmic war that spans millennia, their stories intersect, and the shocking connections between them ultimately determine the fate of their world--and of each other


Review

Furyborn was selected as Bookstaholics Anonymous's July's read-along of the month and I had been meaning to read this book since I got an arc in a FairyLoot box last year!


I really enjoyed this book and I loved the different timelines that were involved in this book. I quite quickly caught on to some important plot points but that didn't stop me from fulling engrossing myself in this story and the world that Claire Legrand has created. I also really liked the idea of two queens and the magical system in this book!


In terms of our main characters Rielle and Eliana I liked both of them quite a bit. They were very strong characters who were both thrown into dangerous situations and prevailed. However they do have their flaws. They are both incredibly reckless and at times frustrating.

This book had a good selection of side characters who I quickly grew to like, especially Eliana's younger brother.


As a debut YA fantasy novel this book ticks a lot of boxes. It has a good range of characters, a great magical system, royalty, romance and the feeling of needing to read more as to know what happens.


Furyborn is a solid 4 star read for me. Whilst I really enjoyed it the book I do feel like the chapters could have been longer so that we got more time with each character and so that we weren't thrown from one to another every 11 pages or so.


Overall, a great read and a great book for those who are new to YA Fantasy! I'm looking forward to reading the next book and seeing where it Legrand takes us!


Rating: 4/5 stars

bottom of page