top of page

FairyLoot - Defying The Odds December 2019

About FairyLoot and my journey as a subscriber…

FairyLoot is a monthly subscription box based in the UK run by a small yet passionate team. The boxes focus solely on fantasy novels with a different theme each month. The boxes includes 5-6 carefully selected goodies along with a Young Adult or Young Adult crossover book.


I have been subscribed to FairyLoot since 2017 and my first ever box was their one year anniversary box. I remember opening that box and falling in love with it immediately. Over the years I’ve subscribed to other boxes provided by different companies and none have compared to the service that FairyLoot provides. I went from receiving three subscription boxes to just FairyLoot because, in my eyes, nothing can compare to the care and passion that is put into their monthly boxes.


The customer service that is provided by them is above and beyond anything I’ve ever experienced and that is just the tip of what FairyLoot provides. Each month you can read along the book of the month with one of the members of the team and can discuss the chapters on their community page with other subscribers. It honestly makes you feel like part of a family and I love it. I’ve only ever participated in one read along but that’s simply because some days I can’t fit in reading a certain amount of chapters or I simply read way too far ahead and finish the book in one day! I loved being able to talk to people about the book and hearing other peoples opinions about the book.


Now, let’s get to the December 2019 box… Please be aware that from here there may be spoilers if you have not yet received your box!


Items included in this month's box

  • A bookish Microfibre Clothe designed by @literarylifeco and I really love the quote!

  • A set of pencils inspired by Game of Thrones and features the house colours along with their motto. These were brought to us by FairyLoot themselves.

  • Bookish socks!!!! These were inspired by The Wrath and the Dawn series by Renee Ahdieh and were created by Team FairyLoot.

  • Magnetic bookmarks designed by @pigeon.princess for this box and contain characters from Brandon Sanderson's Skyward series.

  • A Red Rising inspired pouch which features a design by @chattynora.

  • Bookish tea inspired by The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon. The tea was created by @thetealeafcompany and the label was designed by @noverantale

  • An exclusive Fire Breathing Queen Pin inspired by Aelin from Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas and was designed by @bookmarkd.tattoos.

  • The tarot cards this month are based on characters from An Ember in the Ashes by Sabba Tahir and are painted by @gabriella.bujdoso

  • An Advanced Reading Copy of Wicked As You Wish by Rin Chupeco which is due to be published in March 2020. This edition has an exclusive cover, author's note and signed bookplate.

  • The book of the month is Eight Will Fall but Sarah Harian. This edition has an exclusive cover, embossing, author's signature and art work on the reverse side of the dust jacket by @crookedyew.

My thoughts on this month’s box…

In fear of sounding like a broken record I loved this box. The items are all a good quality and well thought out.


I am so glad to have a physical copy of Wiched As You Wish as I am super excited to read it! I also adore the bookmarks and the pin!


The Microfibre cloth, while a very odd item to include in a box is really pretty but leaves me very scared to use it! The only item I know I won't be using is the tea because I don't drink tea so I'll pass them onto family or friends.


How to subscribe…

If you would like more information on FairyLoot such as prices and how to subscribe please go visit their website www.fairyloot.com


bottom of page