top of page

Eleven Lines to Somewhere by Alyson Rudd - Book Tour & Review


Thank you to NetGalley and HQ for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.


Also a big thank you to HQ for allowing me to take part in the Book Tour! Please check out the banner below to see everyone else involved!


Goodreads Synopsis

Everyone is searching for love. Sometimes we just take our own route to find it.

When Ryan spots a young woman on the tube on his commute, he can’t take his eyes off her. Instantly attracted and intrigued, he’s keen to find out more about his mysterious fellow passenger.


Sylvie spends all day travelling the underground, unable to leave for reasons unbeknownst to Ryan. But Ryan hasn’t dated for nearly ten years, when he was at university and the love of his life tragically died.


For some inexplicable reason, he just can’t shake the feeling he wants to help Sylvie. In a world of missed opportunities and what-ifs, a connection has been made.


Review

From the moment I saw this book and read the synopsis I knew this was one I wanted to read. Having spent my university years constantly travelling to and from my home and to campus (why I chose to live at home I will never quite understand) I often got a lot of people watching in. I loved to imagine where they were going and became incredibly intrigued by the lives of the people who I crossed paths with daily.


This book was so much more than I expected. I really enjoyed learning more about our main characters and watching as they work through the struggles they face in life. I felt like I definitely connected with Sylvie a lot more and emphasized with her situation. She’s stuck travelling the tubes and she doesn’t know how to stop. It becomes a habit that she cannot break.


Ryan is a very understanding character who has a lot going on in his life. Whilst balancing his new found interest in Sylvie he is helping his mother and sister look after their grandfather. He’s also very easy going and really just wants to help Sylvie overcome her problems, going out of his way to help aid her.


With grief, family and friendship at its core this book is so much more than about the romance between Ryan and Sylvie. I loved how all the lives introduced overlap at some point and how much of an impact they make by one action.


Eleven Lines to Somewhere is an emotional and beautifully written story which has you thinking about all the connections you’ve made in life, even if it was a brief one on a train. This is my first Alyson Rudd book and it will not be my last!


Rating: 4/5 stars



bottom of page