top of page

Catching Lucky by Jenn Bennett - Book Review



Thank you to NetGalley and Simon and Schuster for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.


Goodreads Synopsis

Sometimes to find the good, you have to embrace the bad.


Budding photographer Josie Saint-Martin has spent half her life with her single mother, moving from city to city. When they return to her historical New England hometown years later to run the family bookstore, Josie knows it’s not forever. Her dreams are on the opposite coast, and she has a plan to get there.


What she doesn’t plan for is a run-in with the town bad boy, Lucky Karras. Outsider, rebel…and her former childhood best friend. Lucky makes it clear he wants nothing to do with the newly returned Josie. But everything changes after a disastrous pool party, and a poorly executed act of revenge lands Josie in some big-time trouble—with Lucky unexpectedly taking the blame.


Determined to understand why Lucky was so quick to cover for her, Josie discovers that both of them have changed, and that the good boy she once knew now has a dark sense of humour and a smile that makes her heart race. And maybe, just maybe, he’s not quite the brooding bad boy everyone thinks he is…


Review

I’ve only read one of Jenn Bennett’s books before Chasing Lucky and honestly I don’t know why it took me so long to read my second book. Bennett has a way of writing that completely captivates you in the story and makes you feel like you’re living alongside these characters.


When I started this book I wasn’t sure if I was going to enjoy it. I’ve been having a lot of trouble recently YA contemporary stories and was honestly scared after I found myself struggling to get into the first few chapters. However, I had faith in Bennett’s work so powered through and thank god I did. I found myself absolutely loving this story and the characters.


The banter between the two main characters were spot on and found that they both had really good character development. At times Josie and Lucky frustrated me but their teenagers who are still learning who they are and what they want from life. They’re learning from their own mistakes and I found myself loving the growth of their relationship.


This is a book about family, friendship and learning to be honest with people. I recommend this book to anyone looking for a quick paced, romantic contemporary and any fans of Jenn Bennett’s other books!


Rating: 4/5 stars

bottom of page