top of page

Again Again by E. Lockhart - Book Review



Thank you to NetGalley and Bonnier Books UK – Hot Keys Books for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.


Goodreads Synopsis

If you could live your life again, what would you do differently?


After a near-fatal family catastrophe and an unexpected romantic upheaval, Adelaide Buchwald finds herself catapulted into a summer of wild possibility, during which she will fall in and out of love a thousand times—while finally confronting the secrets she keeps, her ideas about love, and the weird grandiosity of the human mind.


A raw, funny story that will surprise you over and over, Again Again gives us an indelible heroine grappling with the terrible and wonderful problem of loving other people.


Review

This book just was such a disappointment for me and it kills me to say that.


I want to say that I went into this book with high expectations. I have read three of E. Lockhart's book and loved We Were Liars and Genuine Fraud (Fly on the Wall was a meh book for me but was one of her first books so I let it slide). As soon as I saw a new E.Lockhart book I knew I needed to read it but honestly, I wish I hadn’t.


Whilst I loved the premise and trusted E. Lockhart's beautiful writing style, this book felt all over the place and honestly, I ended up skim reading most of the book up to the end. I was adamant that I wasn’t going to DNF it but I really should have. I did not enjoy this book, I did not like the style nor the alterative realities. It was confusing and I had to keep going back to figure out what had actually happened.


I only like instalove when it’s done in a unique way and for me, this book missed the mark. It felt weird and I just did not like it. I also didn’t like the relationship she had with her ex-boyfriend. The only thing that kept me reading this book was for the relationship between Adelaide and her brother but even then I began to loose interest.


I hate writing this review because I have really liked E. Lockhart’s most recent books but this book just wasn’t for me. It’s been getting a lot of good reviews from other people so please don’t let me review influence your decision if you’re an E. Lockhart fan.


Review: 1/5 stars

bottom of page